The Washington ACEP Wellness Award recognizes physicians, nurses, administrators or others who have worked to improve the wellness of emergency physicians in our state. We hope celebrating these efforts will help disseminate best practices that others could adopt in their EDs.

2023 Wellness Award Recipient: John Matheson, MD, FACEP

Dr. Matheson was the Founding Chair (and current member) of the WA-ACEP Wellness Committee. He is the Co-Chair of TeamHealth Peer Support Program, Chair of Kadlec Medical Staff Practitioner Wellness and Resilience Committee, and is a regular Speaker/Lecturer on wellness topics for healthcare providers. Dr. Matheson is a champion of Wellness at his own shop and in the ACEP community.

Past Recipients

2022: Jack Hanely, MD, FACEP
2021: Aaron Laird, MD