Nancy Auer Meritorious Achievement Award

The Nancy Auer Meritorious Award recognizes WA-ACEP members who have gone above and beyond the norm in emergency medicine to improve the quality of patient care and support the efforts of the chapter.


Stephen H. Anderson, MD, FACEP – 2021 Recipient

Born & Raised in Michigan, attended University of Michigan for undergrad, medical school, and began residency there. Finished training at University of Washington and joined the Emergency Department staff at Auburn General Hospital in south Seattle in the mid 1980’s. Has practiced there going on 35 years as it grew into MultiCare Auburn Medical Center, holding positions including Chairman of Emergency Services, Stroke Care, Trauma Care, Education, Credentials and Chief-of-Staff. Devoted self to issues to make our communities healthier, being named the Physician of the Year in Seattle by the American Heart Association, and the Guardian of Emergency Medicine by the WA Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians, among many awards. Presently serves as Chair of the city of Auburn Mayor’s Blue Ribbon Task Force for Health.

Over the last few years as President of the WA Chapter of ACEP, fought flawed public policies surrounding restricting access to care for State Medicaid patients, and Mental Health Boarding in ED’s. Co-authored the WA State 7 Best Practices, a program many states now use as a blueprint to increase patient access, coordinate care of high utilizers, save lives and save states Medicaid costs. Helped develop the Emergency Department Information Exchange, EDIE, the largest Health Information exchange for ED’s in America.
Named Spokesperson of the Year for the American College of Emergency Physicians in 2013, in 2014 he was elected to the National Board of Directors of ACEP, advancing the practice of it’s 40,000 members. Has served as Treasurer & Chair of that Board.
In 2020 awarded the Innovation in Acute Care Suicide Prevention Award by the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention for creating the R.E.A.D.Y Program. All this, while still practicing at the bedside as a full time Emergency Medicine Physician. Happily married 33 years to the love of his life, Kathy Anderson.


Previous Winners

2019 – Steve Marshall, MD, FACEP
2018 – Mickey Eisenberg, MD, FACEP
2017 – Kathleen Jobe, MD, FACEP
2016 – James Nania, MD, FACEP
2015 – Marv Wayne, MD, FACEP, FAAEM, FAHA
2013 – Ted Walkley, MD, FAAP, FACEP
2012 – Cindy Markus, MD, FACEP